Accessibility
http://www.gadgetspeak.com/forum/group.rhtm

Questions and Answers

You need to login or register
to contribute to this forum
General discussion forum for the GadgetSpeak community. Ask questions about the site or the community, suggest new features or ask for help on using the site.
 Back to discussion list | Note : only members of this forum can post new messages
Started by
KateBurgess
Posted Dec 29, 2003
At 14:35
Which laptop?

I need to buy a new laptop that will also have to function as an office desktop (with extra keyboard etc) when not on the move, so weight is an important factor, but it must be able to plug into our office network as well as function as a stand alone.  We don't need major graphics or high speed - just a workhorse for MS Office Pro - and all for as little money as possible!   My current Dell Inspiron 7500 has proved very good for 4 years but is just TOO heavy to lug to the States when I travel.  I'm really not a techie, so any advice on makes / models / and likely price would be really helpful please.

Kate B

Replies to this discussion Total Responses:2
Posted Dec 29, 2003
At 16:32
Re: Which laptop?(Reply 1)

I think Dell still offer the best value for money. I recently bought and reviewed an Inspiron 5150 laptop from them (heres the review) - everything about it including build quality is great. That's not the machine for you - it's a heavy desktop replacement, and my arms ache after carrying it a short distance. More luggable than portable!